

Perpetual

Media Release

2015 Miles Franklin Literary Award shortlist unveiled

18 May 2015

Perpetual, as Trustee of the Miles Franklin Literary Award, and shortlist sponsor, the Copyright Agency, have today announced the five authors shortlisted for the 2015 Award.

The 2015 Miles Franklin Literary Award shortlist is:

Author	Novel	Publisher	
Sonya Hartnett	Golden Boys	Penguin Books Australia	
Sofie Laguna	The Eye of the Sheep	Allen & Unwin	
Joan London	The Golden Age	Random House Australia	
Christine Piper	After Darkness	Allen & Unwin	
Craig Sherborne	Tree Palace	Text Publishing	

Speaking on behalf of the judging panel, State Library of NSW Mitchell Librarian, Richard Neville, said: "The 2015 Miles Franklin shortlist presents a powerful group of Australian novels with a rich cast of unforgettable characters, and themes ranging from childhood gangs and domestic violence to itinerant thieves, wartime internment and the post-war polio epidemic."

In addition to Mr Neville, the judging panel includes: *The Australian* journalist and columnist, Murray Waldren; Sydney-based bookseller, Lindy Jones; writer and editor, Craig Munro; and Emeritus Professor, Susan Sheridan.

Each of the 2015 shortlisted authors will receive \$5,000 from the Copyright Agency's Cultural Fund, which has sponsored the Miles Franklin Literary Award since 2004. In that time, the fund has granted more than half a million dollars to the Award's shortlisted authors.

The Copyright Agency's Chief Executive, Murray St Leger, said: "The \$5,000 for each of the five shortlisted authors is our way of giving further recognition to their amazing work, helping them to pay the bills and encouraging them to please give us more to read!"

The Miles Franklin 2015 shortlist announcement was made at the Australian Booksellers Association Conference at State Library Victoria, following an oration by 2008 Miles Franklin winner, Steven Carroll.

Perpetual's National Manager of Philanthropy, Caitriona Fay, congratulated the shortlisted authors.

"As the shortlist announcement shows, Miles Franklin's legacy continues to make a significant impact on the lives of authors and book lovers alike," Ms Fay said.

"There is a passionate literary community in Australia and through Miles' commitment to philanthropy she has helped to make sure that community continues to thrive in 2015."

The winner of the Miles Franklin Literary Award 2015 will be revealed on 23 June 2015 and will receive the \$60,000 in prize money for their novel judged as being 'of the highest literary merit' and which presents 'Australian life in any of its phases.'

For further information about the Miles Franklin Literary Award, visit <u>http://www.milesfranklin.com.au/</u>.

<ENDS>

For any enquiries on individual authors/novels please contact their publicists:

Publisher	Contact name	Email	Phone
	Stalla Chambara	stallag@allagandunuin.com	(02) 8425 0184
Allen & Unwin	Stella Chambers	stellac@allenandunwin.com	(02) 8425 0184
Penguin Books Australia	Rhian Davies	rhian.davies@au.penguingroup.com	(03) 9811 2509
Random House Australia	Lucy Inglis	linglis@randomhouse.com.au	(02) 8923 9808
Text Publishing	Jane Novak	jane.novak@textpublishing.com.au	(03) 8610 4510

For enquiries related to Perpetual or to request an interview with Caitriona Fay, National Manager of Philanthropy, Perpetual Private, or judge, Richard Neville, please contact:

Jarrah Aguera Honner Media 02 8248 3745 jarrah@honnermedia.com.au

About the Miles Franklin Literary Award

Perpetual is Trustee for the Miles Franklin Literary Award. The Award was established in 1954 by the estate of *My Brilliant Career* author Stella Maria Sarah Miles Franklin to celebrate the Australian character and creativity. It supports the betterment of Australian literature by each year recognising the novel of the highest literary merit which presents Australian Life in any of its phases. The 2014 winner of the prize was Evie Wyld for her novel *All the Birds, Singing.*

The Copyright Agency's Cultural Fund has been a proud supporter of the Miles Franklin Award since 2004, granting more than half a million dollars to this premier Australian literary prize.

www.milesfranklin.com.au

About Perpetual Philanthropic Services

Perpetual is one of Australia's largest managers and distributors of philanthropic funds with \$2.2 billion in funds under advice (as at 31 December 2014). Perpetual is trustee for more than 990 <u>charitable trusts and endowments</u> and provides individuals and families with advice on establishing charitable foundations and structured giving programs. Perpetual also assists charities and not-for-profit organisations with <u>investment advice and management</u>.

Perpetual's Philanthropic Services and advice are provided by Perpetual Trustee Company Limited (PTCo), ABN 42 000 001 007, AFSL 236643. This publication has been prepared by PTCo and contains information contributed by third parties. It contains general information only and is not intended to provide advice or take into account personal objectives, financial situation or needs. The information is believed to be accurate at the time of compilation and is provided by PTCo in good faith. To the extent permitted by law, no liability is accepted for any loss or damage as a result of any reliance on this information. PTCo does not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information included in this document which was contributed by a third party.

About the Copyright Agency

The not-for-profit Copyright Agency connects users and creators of content, providing licences for the use of copyright material such as text, images, art and survey plans. We manage the educational and government licences for the use of text and images, as well as the resale royalty scheme for artists (by Government appointment). Our members include writers, artists, surveyors and publishers. Membership is free. www.copyright.com.au